On Dec. 23, City Clerk Rodney Greene announced that there will be a primary election held on Feb. 28, 2017, with respect to the offices of Mayor and Alderman for the Fifth Ward.

In an email to Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl and City Attorney Grant Farrar, with copies to others, he said,

“The Clerk’s Office has received all petitions for the 2017 election. Since there are now five (5) candidates for the office of Mayor, and five (5) candidates for the office of Fifth Ward Alderman, a Consolidated Primary will be held on February 28, 2017.

“The uncertified ballot listing has been sent to the County Clerk, David Orr’s office, and the City Clerk’s office awaits the receipt of the certified listing. As it stands this will be the placement of the candidate’s positions on the ballot (according to each candidate’s filing time):

The Mayor:                                                      5th Ward Alderman:

Brian Miller (#1)                                             Robin Rue (#1)

Mark Tendam (#2)                                          Carolyn Murray (#2)

Gary Gaspard (#3)                                          Daniel Featherson (#3)

Steve Hagerty (#4)                                          Carlis Sutton (#4)

Jeffery P. “Jeff” Smith (#5)                            Misty Witenberg (#5)

“All registered voters in Evanston are urged to come out and cast your vote, on February 28, 2017 for these two offices alone. All other candidates will appear on the Consolidated Election which will be held on Tuesday, April 4, 2017.”