Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

On Dec. 23, City Clerk Rodney Greene announced that there will be a primary election held on Feb. 28, 2017, with respect to the offices of Mayor and Alderman for the Fifth Ward.

He said, “Since there are now five candidates for the office of Mayor, and five candidates for the office of Fifth Ward Alderman, a Consolidated Primary will be held on Feb. 28, 2017.”

Mr. Greene told the RoundTable that if any of the candidates received 51% of the vote in their respective primary election, they would be deemed the winner of the office they were seeking, and there would be no need for an election on April 4. If no candidate received 51% of the vote, there would be a run-off between the top two vote-getters on April 4.

The candidates who are listed in the “uncertified ballot listing” for the Feb. 28 primary are Brian Miller, Mark Tendam, Gary Gaspard, Steve Hagerty, and Jeffrey Smith for Mayor; and Robin Rue Simmons, Carolyn Murray, Daniel Featherson, Carliss Sutton, and Misty Witenberg for Fifth Ward Alderman. 

The box at right lists all the candidates who have filed, in either the November or the December filing periods for the offices indicated.

[After this article was posted, the RoundTable learned the Mr. Smith filed objections to the petitions of the four other Mayoral candidates. See link to article below. If he is successful in knocking the other candidates off the ballot, it would eliminate the need for a Mayoral primary.]

Candidates Who Filed for City Positions



Brian Miller Mark TendamGary GaspardSteve HagertyJeffrey Smith

City ClerkRodney GreeneDevon Reid

Ward 1Lee A. CabotJudy Fiske

Ward 2 Peter Braithwaite

Ward 3Alex MorganMelissa WynneAlex Block

Ward 4Donald Wilson

Ward 5Robin Rue SimmonsCarolyn MurrayDaniel FeathersonCarliss SuttonMisty Witenberg

Ward 6Thomas M. SuffredinVirginia Mann

Ward 7Eleanor Revelle

Ward 8Ann RaineyRobert “Rob” Bady

Ward 9Cicely L. FlemingC. Shawn Jones


Larry Gavin

Larry Gavin was a co-founder of the Evanston RoundTable in 1998 and assisted in its conversion to a non-profit in 2021. He has received many journalism awards for his articles on education, housing and...