The Evanston Public Library invites submissions to the Thirty-Ninth Annual Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards, judged this year by Susan Moss, an Evanston poet. The competition is open to all adult and high school age Chicago-area poets, and to all Evanston elementary and middle-school students.

The competition’s submission deadline is March 13. The prizes will be awarded at a program on April 23 at 2 p.m. in the Evanston Public Library’s Community Meeting Room. Winners will be invited to read their poem at this event, which will also include a reading by the poetry judge.

The Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards is funded by an endowment made in memory of Jo-Anne Hirshfield, who found pleasure and delight in poetry.

Full contest rules and instructions for submissions may be obtained by going to or by calling the Evanston Public Library at 847-448-8650.

Contest judge Susan Moss is the author of two poetry books, “Keep Moving ’til The Music Stops” and “In From The Dark.” She is a former English teacher, presently serving a third term as president of Illinois State Poetry Society.