The League of Women Voters of Evanston will hold a public candidate forum for the Evanston Mayor and Evanston 5th Ward Alderman primary races on Saturday, February 4, 2017. The forums will take place from 10:00 am – 12:30 pm.  They will be held at the Lorraine H. Morton Civic Center, 2100 Ridge Ave., Room G300, Evanston, IL 60201.

Below is the schedule for the two races covered at the forum:

10:00 –  11:15 am      Evanston Mayor

  • Gary Gaspard, Steve Hagerty, Brian Miller, Jeff Smith, and Mark Tendam

11:30 am – 12:30 pm     Evanston 5th Ward Alderman

  • Daniel Featherson, Carolyn Murray, Robin Rue, Carlis Sutton, and Misty Witenberg

The forums are free and open to the public.  Audience members will be able to submit written questions during the forum.

This Forum will be taped live.  Links to the recorded video will be shared by League of Women Voters of Evanston on its website ( and through social media.

Questions regarding the forum may be referred to Julianne Dieterich at or 847-859-7883.

Questions regarding general election issues, voting districts, and candidates can be answered at or by calling the County Clerk’s office at 312-603-5656.

The League of Women Voters, a national nonpartisan political organization dedicated to promoting the active and informed participation of citizens in government, sponsors these events as a service to the community.  The League of Women Voters neither endorses nor opposes candidates for public office.