Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

Polls closed at 7 p.m. on Feb. 28, and results in Evanston’s two contested primary races indicated that businessman Steve Hagerty and Sixth Ward Alderman Mark Tendam will go on in the Mayoral race. In the Fifth Ward, Robin Rue Simmons and Carolyn Murray were the top two vote-getters in the race for Alderman and will face each other in the April 4 General Election. Ninth Ward Alderman Brian Miller came in third place, followed by local attorney and activist Jeff Smith and social worker/teacher Gary Gaspard.

A total of 9,880 votes was cast for Mayor. The breakdown of votes and percentages is listed below, in the order the candidates appeared on the Feb. 28 ballot:

Brian Miller: 1,854 (18.83%)

Mark Tendam: 2022 (20. 53%)

Gary Gaspard: 343 (3.48%)

Steve Hagerty: 4,369 (44.37%)

Jeff Smith: 1,259 (12.79%)

Only 761 votes were cast in the Fifth Ward aldermanic race. The totals and percentages are listed below, in the order in which their names appeared on the ballot in the Feb. 28 Primary Election.

Robin Rue Simmons: 366 (50.07%)

Carolyn Murray 154: (21.07%)

Featherson 27: (3.69%)

Sutton 114: (15.6%)

Witenberg: 70 (9.58%)