Students from Evanston/Skokie school districts 65 and 202 were honored at the African-American Youth Achievement Awards program on Feb. 24.

Evanston Township High School hosted the 20th annual African-American Youth Achievement Awards (AAYA) to honor 38 African American students from District 65 schools and Evanston Township High School. These students were recognized on Feb. 24 for their daily actions that pay homage to the visions and legacy of African-American pioneers.
The AAYA program is part of a Black History Month initiative.
Evanston Township High School: Michael Alexander, Gabriel Cheeks, Justin Davis, Kennedy Freeman, Mecari Macon, Lauryn Poyser, Saniet Rander, and Elyjah Williams.
Middle Schools: Marcus Louis-Charles and Maya Wellington (Chute); Jahnese Adams and Nathaniel Smith (Haven); Quinn Hughes and Amonni Watson (Nichols).
Elementary and magnet schools: Taija Banks and Elijah Bull (Bessie Rhodes); Natalia Fleming and Javonier Rattay (Dawes); Christopher Alexander and Rickia Latchman (Dewey); Tony Callion and Nora Miller (King Arts); Lena Liddell and Rylan Sims (Kingsley); Mariyanna Marshall and Damarion Timberlake (Lincoln); Jonathan Dickson and Elyse King (Lincolnwood); Pharaoh Anderson and Milan-Giovanni Fultz (Oakton); Kani Bruce and Jamila Hackett (Orrington): Jalen Johnson and Casey Nkezea (Walker); Annika Stewart and Brandon Watson (Washington); and Georges Bahombwa and Isabelle Ebeling Willard).
As part of the AAYA program, the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award honors African-American Evanstonians for their leadership and community contributions that encourage and inspire African-American youth.