Dajae Coleman Scholarship recipients Nia Dillard, District 202 Superintendent Eric Witherspoon, and Josiah Williams.Photo by Heidi Randhava

Evanston Township High School students Nia Dillard and Josiah Williams were honored on May 7 as the recipients of the 2017 Dajae Coleman Achievement Award.  The award was established to celebrate and encourage two ETHS freshmen who mirror the qualities exemplified by Dajae Coleman: leadership, academic achievement, humility, and sportsmanship. Each winner receives a $1,000 scholarship for his or her post-secondary education.

Achievement Award applicants were asked to write an essay describing how Dajae’s belief statement, written during his freshman year at ETHS, and the Foundation’s mission statement motivate them to create and maintain positive values. Both winners stated in their essays that they work hard on a daily basis to maintain the values that Dajae articulated in his belief statement.

The awards were presented by Tiffany Rice, Dajae’s mother and founder of the Dajae Coleman Foundation.  It is the Foundation’s mission to uplift, encourage, empower, and reward Evanston youth.  Ms. Rice also recognized ETHS graduating senior Aaron Smith-Alim, an inaugural recipient of the Dajae Coleman Achievement Award in 2014, who will attend Reed College in the fall.

Heidi Randhava

Heidi Randhava is an award winning reporter who has a deep commitment to community engagement and service. She has written for the Evanston RoundTable since 2016.