Leadership Evanston honorees: (back row, left to right) Mitchell Smith, Marion Flynn, Mark Tendam, (front row, left to right) John Wylie, Michael Barrera, Malik Turley. Photo from Evanston Community Foundation

Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

On April 17, the Evanston Community Foundation celebrated Leadership Evanston’s (LE’s) 25th anniversary by honoring outstanding alumni for their community leadership. The event was held at SPACE in Evanston.

The honorees represent the depth and breadth of Leadership Evanston’s 25-year history. Besides serving as elected and volunteer leaders, graduates have been instrumental in creating and leading significant local initiatives and organizations.

Leadership Evanston’s founding director, Carol Mullins, introduced two alumni representing the first 25 years of LE: Marion Flynn,(LE’94), a non-profit volunteer leader, and connector, and Malik Turley (LE’12), a business woman who has innovated throughout her career.

To represent the future of Evanston leadership, ETHS Community Service Director Mary Collins introduced Michael Barrera and John Wylie from Emerge, the ETHS sophomore leadership development program created in collaboration with Leadership Evanston. Mr. Barrera is a current participant and Mr. Wylie is an Emerge alumni and now a Northwestern student serving as an Emerge mentor.  The final honoree representing the future was Mitchell Smith (LE’16), a native Evanstonian who serves as the building manager at Ebenezer Primm Towers and as a local faith leader.

The honorees representing Evanston’s present leadership were mayor-elect Steve Hagerty and Sixth Ward Alderman Mark Tendam, who participated in the same Leadership Evanston class in 2003-04.