Michael Rawls and Shadana Patterson, "Yellowman" Photo by Basil Clunie

Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

Evanston’s Fleetwood-Jourdain Theatre (FJT) has received 11 nominations for the 23rd annual Black Theater Alliance/Ira Aldridge Awards.

The Black Theater Alliance Awards, Inc., (BTAA) was founded in 1995 to honor African Americans who achieve excellence in theater, dance, and all areas of the performing and technical arts in the Chicagoland area. This year’s FJT’s award nominations include:

Outstanding Stage Production – “Yellowman”; Best Ensemble –” Yellowman”; Best Direction of an Ensemble – Tim Rhoze,” Yellowman”; Best Actor in an Ensemble –  Jelani Pitcher, “Sweet”; Best Actor in an Ensemble – Michael Rawls, “Yellowman”; Best Actress in an Ensemble –  Shadana Patterson, “Yellowman”; Most Promising Actor – Jelani Pitcher, “Sweet”; Most Promising Actress –  Adia Alli, “Sweet”; Best Musical Direction –  Christie Chiles Twillie, ” Yellowman”; Best Lighting Design – Phoenix and Oliver Ballentine, “Sweet”; Best Set Design – Tim Rhoze, “Sweet”.

Winners will be announced on Oct. 23 at the BTA Awards held at the Conaway Center at Columbia College, 1104 S. Wabash, in Chicago.