Rodney Lowe, Evanston Township High School teacher and adviser to the student newspaper, is one of 12 journalism educators recognized this year by the Journalism Education Association (JEA). Each has contributed significantly to scholastic journalism throughout his or her career. These Lifetime Achievement Award recipients will be honored April 13 at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention in San Francisco.

The award recipients are Jane Blystone, Erie, Pennsylvania; Candace Brandt, Charlotte, North Carolina; Gloria Eastman, Denver; Brenda Gorsuch, Mills River, North Carolina; Trudy Hurd, Flora, Illinois; Mary Inglis, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida; Janet Levin, Wheeling, Illinois; Rodney Lowe, Michigan City, Indiana; Wayna Polk, Carbon, Texas; Janelle Schultz, Scottsbluff, Nebraska; Vanessa Shelton, Elsberry, Missouri; and Cindy Todd, Austin, Texas.

Mr. Lowe has been influencing students through scholastic journalism for 36 years. During this time, he has been able to instruct hundreds of students who were part of the staff of The Evanstonian student newspaper. “I know from conversations with other Evanstonian alums and their parents that what Mr. Lowe did for my children he did for hundreds of students over his many decades as a journalism teacher and the Evanstonian adviser: he helped them become the best they could be,” nominator Jonathan Baum said. “Rodney Lowe is a man of courage with an unsurpassed dedication to journalistic integrity and the role of a free press in our democracy, and he passes this on to all of his students.”