The City of Evanston’s Preservation Commission invites homeowners, architects, contractors, and Evanston residents to nominate preservation projects for the 2018 Evanston Preservation & Design Awards. This program is aimed at recognizing property owners, architects, contractors, and local organizations for their contribution to maintaining and enhancing the architectural, historical, and cultural heritage of Evanston through construction projects in the following categories:

  • Sensitive Addition/Alteration
  • Adaptive Reuse
  • Appropriate New Construction
  • Proper Rehabilitation/Restoration
  • Innovative Solutions in Preservation
  • Life Achievement/Preservationist of the Year

Full descriptions of the various project categories and a link to the nomination form is available at The Life Achievement/Preservationist of the Year award is given to an individual who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the preservation movement for the benefit of the City of Evanston through his/her work or volunteerism.

Nominations are due by Friday, April 6, 2018. Questions should be directed to Carlos D. Ruiz, Preservation Coordinator at 847-448-4311 or