The Evanston Community Foundation announced competitive and strategic grants totaling more than $825,000 on May 31 at the 2018 Grant Awards Celebration and Annual Meeting. President and CEO Monique B. Jones opened the event with the State of the Foundation, remarking, “In this moment, we are focusing equally between stewarding our community of donors and being a community leader.”

Board Chair Diana Cohen presented the Jim Kogen Foundation Spirit Award for exemplary board leadership to Michael Brody, immediate past Chair.

The 2018 Responsive Grant Award recipients include Alliance to End Homelessness in Suburban Cook County, Books & Breakfast, Center for Independent Futures, Warren W. Cherry Preschool, Children’s Advocacy Center of North and Northwest Cook County, Children’s Home & Aid Society of Illinois, Connections for the Homeless, Curt’s Café, Erie Family Health Center, Evanston Scholars, Evanston Symphony Orchestra Association, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, Girls Play Sports, The Harbour, Housing Opportunities for Women, Impact Behavioral Health Partners, Interfaith Action of Evanston, McGaw YMCA, The James B. Moran Center for Youth Advocacy, North Shore Senior Center, Northlight Theatre, PEER Services, Services for Adults Staying in Their Homes (SASI), Y.O.U. (Youth & Opportunity United), Youth Job Center and the YWCA Evanston/North Shore.