Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Students from Evanston/Skokie school districts 65 and 202 were honored at the African-American Youth Achievement Awards program on Feb. 7. (Photo: Evanston Photographic/Genie Lemieux)

Evanston Township High School hosted the 22nd annual African-American Youth Achievement (AAYA) Awards to honor 38 African-American students from Evanston/Skokie public schools. These students were recognized on February 7, 2019, for their daily actions that pay homage to the visions and legacy of African-American pioneers.

Evanston Township High School: Lys Acacia, Beyonce Bailey, Dystonae Clark, Demarcus Dennison, Donald Gibbs, Darius Johnson, Sarah Parisien and Elisa Walker

Middle schools: William Campbell and Ava Moseley, Chute; Jahvar Quire and Ariana Williams, Haven; Tyler Shaun Alexander and Sadaya Deeble, Nichols.

Elementary and magnet schools: Olaitan Dada and Cecily Jordan, Bessie Rhodes; Noah Nelson and Hani Ramos, Dawes; Teshawna Rhaburn and Arnon Timms, Dewey;   Tyler Dobson and Shaneil Henderson, King Arts; Abdul Ouedraogo and Kayla Strickland, Kingsley; Anna Iwuagwu and Carter McIntosh, Lincoln; Dylan Quire and Rhiana Ruddock, Lincolnwood; Cross Mitchell and Elyse Pinckney, Oakton; Jakyra Lockhart and Edouard Josef Millner, Orrington; Ethan Carpenter and Skylar Lomax, Walker; Ashlee Murray and Billy Price, Washington; Eleanor Ghogomu and Micah Smith, Willard

 As part of the AAYA program, the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award honors African-American Evanstonians for their leadership and community contributions that encourage and inspire African-American youth. The 2019 recipient of the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award is Hecky Powell, founder and owner of Hecky’s Barbecue.