The City of Evanston has joined governments and elected officials across the nation in celebrating Women in Public Office Day on Tuesday, March 19, 2019.

Founded by the National Foundation for Women Legislators, Women in Public Office Day celebrates the accomplishments and selfless service of elected women nationwide. Mayor Stephen Hagerty proclaimed March 19 as Women in Public Office Day in Evanston at the March 11 City Council meeting.

Six of Evanston’s nine wards are represented by women on the City Council. Women serving on the Evanston City Council include:

Ald. Judy Fiske (1st Ward), 2009 to present

Ald. Melissa A. Wynne (3rd Ward), 1997 to present

Ald. Robin Rue Simmons (5th Ward), 2017 to present

Ald. Eleanor Revelle (7th Ward), 2016 to present

Ald. Ann Rainey (8th Ward), 1983 to 1993 and 1997 to present

Ald. Cicely Fleming (9th Ward), 2017 to present

Evanston is also represented by women in state and federal government. Rep. Jan Schakowsky has served as U.S. Representative for Illinois’ 9th congressional district since 1999, and Sen. Tammy Duckworth has served as U.S. Senator for Illinois since 2017. In addition, all five state legislators representing Evanston are women. Evanston state legislators include Sen. Laura Fine, Sen. Heather Steans, Rep. Kelly Cassidy, Rep. Robyn Gabel and Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz.

Women also serve on the District 65 Board of Education, ETHS Board of Education, Oakton Community College Board of Trustees, and Ridgeville Park District Board of Commissioners.

Pictured (from left): Ald. Eleanor Revelle, Ald. Cicely Fleming, Ald. Ann Rainey, Ald. Judy Fiske, Ald. Melissa A. Wynne, and Ald. Robin Rue Simmons.