Darius Johnson, Photo from ETHS

Darius Johnson and Liana Wallace, who were nominated by their fellow ETHS seniors, are the 2019 recipients of the Oliver Baty Cunningham Memorial Prize (Darius) and the North End Mothers’ Club Award (Liana).

The Oliver Baty Cunningham Memorial Prize is a scholarship awarded annually to a senior who identifies as male or gender nonconforming, and who ranks first among the members of their class in all-around qualities, including intellectual ability, capacity for leadership, sense of responsibility and distinguished service to school and community.

Darius was awarded for being a dedicated learner, charismatic leader, and an athlete who shares his time and talent with AVID, Emerge, DECA, and the Investment Club. He is also the Lead Scholar for the Boulé Scholar Program. He is committed to academic rigor and hard work both inside and outside the classroom. He is also known to be an innovative entrepreneur and an excellent public speaker.