The Evanston Symphony Orchestra’s 74th season, titled “Great Composers,” will include four subscription concerts at Pick-Staiger Concert Hall on the Northwestern University campus, all conducted by Music Director Lawrence Eckerling, and featuring virtuoso soloists prominent on the national scene.

All concerts are on Sunday afternoons at 2:30 p.m.

The year 2020 marks worldwide celebrations to honor the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven. The ESO will join these festivities with two all-Beethoven concerts; one will be the final concert of this upcoming season on May 3, 2020, and the second concert will be a part of the 75th anniversary season of 2020/2021. The May 3, 2020 concert will feature renowned pianist Inna Faliks in the “Emperor” Piano Concerto No. 5. The program also includes Beethoven’s “Consecration of the House” Overture and the
Pastoral” Symphony No. 6.

The season will open on Nov. 10 with Mindy Kaufman of the New York Philharmonic taking the solo parts in Vivaldi’s Piccolo Concerto in C Major, RV 443 and Carl Nielsen’s Flute Concerto. The program begins and ends with two masterworks of Jean Sibelius: “Finlandia” and Symphony No. 1.

The second concert on Feb. 2 features music by American composers including the Pulitzer Prize winner George Walker (his “Lyric for Strings”), Ferde Grofé’s “Grand Canyon Suite,” and George Gershwin’s Concerto in F Major with pianist Jeffrey Biegel.

Three great Russian composers will be represented at the March 15 concert, which will open with Four Dances from Aram Khachaturian’s ballet “Gayane.” ESO favorite Irina Muresanu returns as soloist in Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2, and the concert will conclude with Tchaikovsky’s dramatic Symphony No. 4.

The fourth and final concert of the subscription series is the all-Beethoven concert on May 3.

The brochure for the 74th season is available on the website, by email at or by calling 847-864-8804.