Submitted by Northwestern University

Northwestern University will host the second annual U7+ Summit June 2-3, 2020, convening presidents and top leaders from universities in G7 nations and other countries to explore solutions to the world’s most pressing issues, Northwestern President Morton Schapiro announced today.

The Summit will be hosted by Northwestern with activities in Evanston and Chicago. It will be co-sponsored by Northwestern, Georgetown University, Columbia University and the University of California, Berkeley.

The U7+ Summit is the annual meeting of the U7 Alliance, the first global alliance of university presidents for the purpose of coordinating and advancing the role of universities as global actors committed to multilateral action to address global problems.

Because the United States will host the 2020 G7 Summit at Camp David June 10-12, the second annual U7+ Summit will also be held in the U.S. a week earlier. More than 50 universities have been invited.

Scores of university presidents and senior international officers are expected to attend the U7+ Alliance meeting in Evanston. The inaugural summit, held in July 2019 in France, included participants from 47 universities in G7 countries and 13 other countries, including Argentina, Australia, Ghana, India, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa and South Korea. These 47 universities represent more than 2 million students around the world.

“We are honored to host this important gathering of universities committed to global leadership,” said President Schapiro. “It is imperative that today’s universities come together to play a leading role in addressing global challenges that can be solved through collaboration across disciplines and geographical boundaries. Our role as host of the 2020 U7+ Summit is a natural extension of our global research and education mission and our commitment to focus the world’s brightest minds on the world’s most pressing problems .”

“This is an important moment for us as we prepare to unveil an ambitious global strategic plan for Northwestern,” said President Schapiro in a message to the University community. “Our goals, which include the development of deeper strategic partnerships and an expanded commitment toward the global social good, are in line with the mission of the U7 Alliance.”

Building on work initiated at the inaugural U7+ Summit in July 2019 at The Paris Institute of Political Studies (Sciences Po), Northwestern, Georgetown, Columbia, UC Berkeley and other U7 Alliance partners will develop a multilateral agenda that focuses on reimagining what it means to be a global actor and to work collaboratively across institutional, national and disciplinary borders.

“Just as the U7 Alliance has an established agenda that emphasizes collaboration and engagement beyond G7 countries, Northwestern’s global strategy is deeply committed to true reciprocity in global problem-solving,” said Annelise Riles, executive director of the Northwestern Buffett Institute for Global Affairs, which will help lead the cross-university team hosting the summit. “That means building collaborative alliances around mutual benefit and across varying economic circumstances, which is a distinctive perspective Northwestern brings to formation of the 2020 U7+ Summit agenda.”

The U7+ Summit is a unique opportunity for university leaders from a wide variety of nations to discuss a common agenda and establish a framework for university actions in today’s global landscape. Rather than being designed as a scientific colloquium, the U7+ Summit creates a space for debate and reflection on the concrete actions that universities can take as engaged global actors, and it provides university leaders an opportunity to weigh in on issues and tackle global challenges to be addressed at the G7 Summit.

Over two days, more than 100 presidents and top leaders of universities will continue the work begun in 2019 to establish commitments on five key topics, including: 1. Universities as key actors in a global world; 2. Climate and energy transition; 3. Inequality and polarized societies; 4. Technological transformation; and 5. Community engagement and impact.

As in 2019, the 2020 Summit will conclude with a series of concrete commitments made by each university president for their respective instititutions. These commitments will be discussed during the meeting in Evanston and voted on by the university presidents, that will be presented for consideration as part of the broader G7 discussions that will take place in Camp David, June 10-12.

international Universities invited to the 2020 U7+ Summit include the following:

Universidad de Buenos Aires – Argentina

Australian National University – Australia

McGill University – Canada

University of Ottawa – Canada

University of Montreal – Canada

University of British Columbia – Canada

University of Toronto – Canada

Houphouët-Boigny – Ivory Coast

Aix-Marseille Université – France

Ecole polytechnique – France

HEC Paris – France

MEAE – FranceMESRI – France

Palais de l’Elysée – France

Paris Sciences et Lettres (PSL) – France

Sciences Po – France

Sorbonne Université – France

Université Côte d’Azur – France

Université de Bordeaux – France

Université de Lyon — France

Université de Paris – France

Université de Strasbourg – France

Université de Grenobles Alpes – France

Université Paris Saclay– France

Free University Berlin – Germany

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München – Germany

Technical University of Munich (TUM) – Germany

University of Heidelberg – Germany

University of Mannheim — Germany

Ashesi University – Ghana

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay – India

Sapienza University of Rome – Italy

Universita Bocconi – Italy

Università degli Studi di Milano – Italy

University of Naples Federico II – Italy

Hitotsubashi University – Japan

Keio University – Japan

Kyoto University – Japan

Osaka University – Japan

University of Tokyo – Japan

University of Nairobi – Kenya

Kenyatta University – Kenya

Seoul National University – South Korea

Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico  – Mexico

Université Monhammed VI Polytechnique – Morocco

University of Ibadan – Nigeria

Université Cheikh Anta Diop – Senegal

National University of Singapore – Singapore

University of Cape Town – South Africa

Imperial College London – United Kingdom

London School of Economics and Political Science – United Kingdom

University College of London – United Kingdom

University of Cambridge – United Kingdom

University of Edinburgh – United Kingdom

Columbia University – United States

Georgetown University – United States

University of California-Berkeley – United States