Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

Here are the unofficial election results from the Cook County Clerk’s website:

President (Democrat)

Joe Biden, 63%

Bernie Sanders, 33%

Congress, 9th District

Jan Schakowsky, Democrat, incumbent, uncontested in the Primary Election, will face Republican Sargis Sangari in the General Election.

U. S. Senate

Richard Durbin, uncontested

State Representative

14th District, Kelly Cassidy, Democrat, uncontested

17th District, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Democrat incumbent, uncontested in the Primary Election, will face Republican Yesoe Yoon in the General Election.

18th District, Robyn Gabel, Democrat, uncontested ..

State’s Attorney

Kim Foxx, Democrat, received 43% of the votes. She will face Republican Patrick W. “Pat” O’Brien in the General Election. Other Democrats in the primary election were Bill Conway, 36%, and Donna More, 16%.

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Iris Martinez

Illinois Supreme Court

With seven candidates, P. Scott Neville Jr. received the 24% of the votes, the highest percentage.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Top votes out of 10 candidates

Kimberley Neely Dubuclet, 17%

M. Cameron “Cam” Davis 14%

Heather Boyle, 12.6%

Patricia Theresa Flynn, 12.25%

Evanston resident Thomas Cushing won his bid for judge of the 9th Judicial Subcircuit.


Evanstonians approved by 86% the local referendum to hold non-partisan elections. The total number of voters for this referendum was 19,060. There are more than 49,000 registered Evanston voters. 

The Evanston Voter Initiative referendum did not appear on the ballot. The Evanston Electoral Board rejected the referendum question. The EVI then sought judicial review, and the Evanston Electoral Board’s decision was upheld by the Circuit Court. The EVI then appealed to the Appellate Court, which affirmed the Circuit Court’s decision.