Evanston news delivered free to your inbox! 

MAA American Mathematics Competitions Recognizes Top High School Math Teachers has announced the 2020 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School. This national education prize is awarded annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers for their outstanding work to motivate students through participation in the MAA AMC.

The mission of the AMC is to increase interest in mathematics and to develop analytical problem-solving skills through participation in a challenging and dynamic competition.

This year, Richard Agin of Evanston Township High School was one of only 20 teachers – and the only one in Illinois – to receive the Edyth May Sliffe award. He has taught mathematics at ETHS for 12 years. He is Co-Head Coach of the ETHS Math Team, a former Chicago All-Stars American Regions Math League (ARML) Coach, and Past President of the North Suburban Mathematics League. Prior to teaching, he practiced law in Chicago, specializing in commercial litigation, for 17 years.

The Edyth May Sliffe Award was established in 1989 with a bequest from the Sliffe estate. Ms. Sliffe, a high school mathematics teacher in Emeryville, Cal., for 36 years, wanted to recognize the nation’s top math teachers for their contributions. Sliffe winners each receive $500 and free registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest in Sacramento, Aug. 4-7, 2021.

The Mathematical Association of America is the world’s largest community of mathematicians, students, and enthusiasts.