In national races, Illinois voters preferred Democrats Joe Biden and Kamala Harris (55.1%) to Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence (43%) for president and vice president of the U.S.

They also voted to return Democrat Dick Durbin (52.35%) to the U.S. Senate and Democrat Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky, 9th District, to the House of Representatives. In the U.S. Senate race, Republican Mark Curran received 40.91%; Willie Wilson of the Willie Wilson party received 3.95%. In the 9th District race, Republican Sargis Sangari received 32.5% of the votes.

Results of the referendum on the proposed amendment to the State Constitution to implement a graduated income tax may not be known for a few weeks. There are two ways in which the referendum could pass: receiving a simple majority of the total votes cast or 60% of the votes on that issue.

Although results are still unofficial, it looks like Democrat incumbent Kim Foxx will remain State’s Attorney, winning about 63% of the votes, with her Republican opponent, Patrick O’Brien, garnering about 29.8%. Libertarian Party candidate Brian Dennehy received about 6% of the votes.

Unofficial results for commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District are Kimberly Neely Dubuclet (26.66%), M Cameron “Cam” Davis (24.01%) and Eira L. Corral Sepulveda (21.76%) will be commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District.

The Democrat incumbents who represent parts of Evanston will return to Springfield: Kelly Cassidy was unopposed in the 14th District. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, 17th District, received 62.6% of the votes; and Robyn Gabel, 18th District, 70.1%.

Mary Gavin

Mary Gavin is the founder of the Evanston RoundTable. After 23 years as its publisher and manager, she helped transition the RoundTable to nonprofit status in 2021. She continues to write, edit, mentor...