Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Election results from the Cook County Clerk’s office show that more than three-fourths of Evanston voters approved the proposed “fair tax” amendment to the Illinois Constitution, and more than 90% voted for Joe Biden and Kamala Harris for president and vice president.

The proposed amendment was popular in Evanston but failed statewide: 29,636, 0r 77.04%, voted in favor of the proposed amendment; 8,834, or 22.96% voted “no.”

More than 40,000 Evanstonians cast ballots in the presidential race. Of these

·        36, 410, or 90.9%, voted for Vice President Biden and Senator Harris;

·        3,066, or 7.65%, voted for Donald Trump and Michael Pence;

·        268, or 0.67% voted for Libertarian candidates Jo Jorgensen and Jeremy “Spike” Cohen;

·        200, or 0.5%, voted for Green candidates Howie Hawkins and Angela Walker; 

·        61, or 0.15%, voted for Gloria La Riva and Leonard Peltier of the Party for Socialism and Liberation; and

·        51, or 0.13% voted for Brian Carroll and Amar Patel of the American Solidarity Party.

In the race for U.S. Senate

·        incumbent Democrat Richard Durbin garnered 34,475 votes, 86.61%.

·        Republican Mark Curran received 3,522 votes, 8.85%;

·        Willie Wilson of the Willie Wilson party received 1,009 votes, 2.53%;

·        Green candidate David Black received 488 votes, 1.23%; and

·        Libertarian candidate Danny Malouf received 310 votes, 0.78%.

Democrat incumbent Jan Schakowsky retained her seat in the House of Representatives, receiving almost 90% (89.97%) of Evanston votes cast – 35, 507. Republican Sargis Sangari received 3,957 votes, 10.03%.

 Democrat State Representative Kelly Cassidy, whose 14th district includes part of south Evanston, ran unopposed and received 1,426 Evanston votes.

In the 17th District, incumbent Democrat Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz retained her seat, receiving 6,724 votes, 83.2%; Republican candidate Yesoe Yoon received 971 votes, 12.1%; and Green candidate Christopher Kruger received 327 votes, 4.08%.

In the 18th District, incumbent Democrat Robyn Gabel received 86.55% of the votes cast – 25,265. Independent Sean Matlis received 13.45% of the votes cast – 3,925.

Evanston votes cast for commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago are listed below:     

·        Kimberly Neely Dubuclet (Democrat): 27,034 votes, 28.63%

·        M. Cameron ”Cam” Davis (Democrat): 26,640 votes, 28.21%

·        Eira L. Corral Sepúlveda (Democrat): 23,487 votes, 24.87%

·        Rachel Wales (Green): 5, 978 votes, 6.33%

·        Tammie Felicia Vinson (Green): 5,686 votes, 6.02%

·        Troy Antonio Hernandez (Green): 5,604 votes, 5.93%

For State’s Attorney, 27,743, 72.71%, Evanstonians voted for incumbent Democrat Kim Foxx. Republican Patrick O’Brien received 22.02% of the votes cast in Evanston, 8,401. Libertarian Brian Dennehy received 2,010 votes, 5.27%.

The 38,470 ballots cast in the referendum question represented a 70.63% turnout voter turnout. Ballots cast in many other races reflected a similar turnout.