Candidates for the District 65 and District 202 School Boards may begin filing the petitions next Monday, Dec. 14; the filing period ends Dec. 21, according  the Illinois Association of School Boards, which governs public school board elections. Along with the nominating petitions, each candidate must file  a statement of candidacy and a receipt of filing of Statement of Economic Interests.

Candidates’ names appear on the ballot in the order in which the nominating papers were received; a lottery is held for the first and last spots if multiple candidates’ papers are filed simultaneously in the first or last hours of the filing period.

The County Clerk or County Board of Election commissioners shall notify candidates of acceptance of their nominating petitions within seven days of filing, or the last day of filing.

Other Dates for School Board Candidates in the April 6 Consolidated Election

Dec. 29, last day to file objections to nominating petitions. The objection period consists of five business days. The County officer’s electoral board hears objections to the nominations of candidates for school district offices. If the office of the local election official is closed for days that would normally be business days prior to Dec. 25, the deadline for 2020 must be extended.

Dec. 30, last day for ballot placement lottery.

Jan. 28, Last day candidate may file Withdrawal of Candidacy in the office of the local election official, election authority, or the State Board of Elections.

Feb. 4, last day to file a Declaration of Intent to be a write-in candidate with the appropriate election authority or authorities.

April 6, Consolidated Election. Polls are open 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The terms of the following District 65 Board members expire in 2021: Elisabeth “Biz” Lindsay-Ryan, Sunith “Suni” Kartha, Soo La Kim, and Joseph Hailpern.

The terms of the following District 202 Board members expire in 2021: Patricia Savage-Williams, Patricia Maunsell, Jude Laude, and Gretchen Livingston.

At present, it is not clear how many current school board members will seek re-election. The RoundTable will post current information as quickly as possible.

The RoundTable does not endorse any candidate for public office.

Mary Gavin

Mary Gavin is the founder of the Evanston RoundTable. After 23 years as its publisher and manager, she helped transition the RoundTable to nonprofit status in 2021. She continues to write, edit, mentor...