Fleetwood-Jourdain Theatre, Mudlark Theater, and Piven Theatre Workshop will end 2020 with the world premiere of a broadcast of the new original play “Am I the Only One Here?” written by an ensemble of youth actors and artists from those companies. Mudlark’s Artistic Director Andrew Biliter and Alumna Olivia Nicholson served as devising facilitators.

The play will be broadcast at 7 p.m. on New Year’s Eve, Dec. 31 and can be seen by registering at this free link: https://onlyonehere.givesmart.com; Afterward, Ms. Nicholson will moderate a panel discussion with the ensemble. While registration to watch is free, donations are welcome. Register to join us at https://onlyonehere.givesmart.com, and separately register for the post-broadcast panel hosted on Zoom Webinar here.

“ Am I the Only One Here?” was developed through a collaborative partnership among Fleetwood-Jourdain Theatre, Mudlark Theater, and Piven Theatre Workshop. Inspired by Fleetwood-Jourdain Theatre’s Producing Artistic Director Tim Rhoze, the three Evanston-based theaters selected a Teen Devising Ensemble of actors and artists who have spent the fall months collaborating in devising and script writing workshops, rehearsals, and filming vignettes.

The Teen Devising Ensemble explores and centers the intersections and real-life impacts of identity, the COVID-19 pandemic, and the socio-political events of 2020 on today’s youth. The ensemble members are young actors Carmiya Bady, Matías Kruse, Alethea Koconis, Ca´ron Walker, and Moksha Paudel, along with young production team members Belise Gorleku (stage manager) and Amanda Thorsberg (script supervisor). Andrew Biliter (Devising Facilitator), Olivia Nicholson (associate devising facilitator), and Tim Rhoze (project oversight) are the production team.

This collaborative performing arts project would not be possible without the support Nathan Norman of the City of Evanston’s Youth/Young Adult Division and funding from the Mayor’s Summer Youth Employment Program. This project is partially funded by the Evanston Arts Council, in partnership with the City of Evanston, the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, and the National Endowment for the Arts.