Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Fourth Ward Alderman Donald Wilson, one of the Evanston City Council’s most prominent voices, and Eighth Ward Alderman Ann Rainey, the Council’s longest-serving member and a force in Evanston politics for decades, will not be advancing to the April 6 general election, based on final primary returns posted on the Cook County Clerk’s Election site March 10.

The Clerk’s Office’s canvass of election returns – which includes the final tally of mail-in ballots from the Feb. 23 primary – show newcomers Diane Goldring, a grassroots activist, and Jonathan Nieuwsma, a founding member of Citizens’ Greener Evanston,  moving forward to the general election in the centrally located Fourth Ward.

Donald Wilson

Final canvass results show Mr. Nieuwsma received 531 or 38.96% of the 1,363 votes cast in the Fourth Ward race, Ms. Goldring with 444 votes or 32.58% and Mr. Wilson, who was seeking a third term of office, with 388 votes or 28.47%.

Ann Rainey

In the southeast Eighth Ward, Devon Reid, currently Evanston City Clerk, will face off with Matthew Mitchell, an attorney and Ridgeville Park District Commissioner, in the April 6 General Election.

In the Eighth Ward, the results show Mr. Reid with 429 votes or 39.61% of the 1,083 votes cast, Mr. Mitchell with 336 votes or 31.02%, and Ald. Rainey, whose service on the Council dates back to 1983, with 318 votes or 29.36%.


Leave a comment

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted. Your full name and email is required. We do not post anonymous comments. Your e-mail will not be posted.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *