Unofficial results for the Citywide elections show Stephanie Mendoza has won the City Clerk’s race, beating  Cynthia Beebe. In aldermanic races, where there were contested elections in eight of the City’s nine wards, five sitting aldermen will return, along with four new ones.

With all 50 precincts reporting, newcomer Stephanie Mendoza appears to have won handily in the race to be Evanston’s next City Clerk. Ms. Mendoza received 8,164 votes, or 70.81%, to Ms. Beebe’s 3,365, 29.19%. And activists Clare Kelly and Devon Reid are clinging to short leads in the First and Eighth Ward Aldermanic races, according to unofficial results posted at about 10 p.m., on the Cook County Clerk’s website

In the First Ward, Ms. Kelly received 574 votes or 51.53% to 540 votes or 48.47% for longtime incumbent Ms. Fiske, with four of four precincts reporting. However, it was unclear whether early votes and mail in votes had been included in the tally.

In the southeast Eighth Ward, with five of five precincts reporting, Mr. Reid, currently Evanston’s City Clerk, received 542 votes or 52.19%, to 501 votes for Matthew Mitchell, a Ridgeville Park Commission member.

In the other aldermanic races, unofficial results showed:

In the Second Ward: Incumbent Peter Braithwaite with 671 votes or 53.55%, versus 582 votes or 46.45% for challenger Darlene Cannon;

In the Third Ward: Incumbent Melissa Wynne with 830 votes or 56.58%, to 637 votes or 43.42% for challenger Nicholas Korzeniowski;

In the Fourth Ward: first time candidate Jonathan Nieuwsma with 784 votes or 58.81%, to 549 votes or 41.19% for Diane Goldring, also a newcomer:

In the Fifth Ward: newcomer Bobby Burns with 514 votes or 65.64%, compared to 262 votes or 33.46% for challenger Carolyn Murray;

In the Sixth Ward, 1,408 votes or 61.81% for incumbent Thomas Suffredin, to 870 votes or 38.19% for first time candidate Katie Trippi;

In the Seventh Ward, 1,007 votes or 60.74% for incumbent Eleanor Revelle, to 651 votes or 39.26% for first-time candidate Mary Rosinski;

Ninth Ward: Cicely Fleming, unopposed: 990 votes

District 65 School Board

With all 58 precincts reporting, the unofficial results for District 65 School Board show the three incumbents – Soo La Kim, Joseph “Joey” Hailpern, Elisabeth “Biz” Lindsay-Ryan – and newcomer Donna Wang Su have won the election.

The results, posted on the Cook County Clerk’s website show the following totals:

Soo La Kim (incumbent), 7,488 votes

Joseph Hailpern (incumbent), 6,354 votes

Elisabeth Lindsay-Ryan (incumbent), 6,831 votes

Donna Wang Su, 5,488 votes

Marquise Weatherspoon, 5,431 votes.

Ndona Muboyayi, 5,079 votes

Angela Blaising, 4,405 votes

Katie Magrino Voorhees, 4,365 votes

Bob Seidenberg

Bob Seidenberg is an award-winning reporter covering issues in Evanston for more than 30 years. He is a graduate of the Northwestern University Medill School of Journalism.