Includes Updated Vote Counts and Election Day Photos

First-time candidates Clare Kelly in the City’s 1st Ward and Devon Reid in the southeast 8th Ward hold small leads in their aldermanic races, but mail-in votes are still outstanding and a final determination may be a few weeks off.

In the District 65 School Board election, Donna Wang Su holds a 46-vote lead over Marquise Weatherspoon.

City Elections
In the April 6 general election, Evanston’s first municipal race in four years, newcomer Stephanie Mendoza appears to be a clear winner in the Evanston City Clerk race.

With all 50 precincts reporting, Ms. Mendoza had received 8,094 votes or 70.82% to 3,335 votes or 29.18% for challenger Cynthia Beebe.

A volunteer who distributed candidate literature outside of Northminster Presbyterian Church said he counted 110 people who entered the church to vote between 7 a.m. and 1 p.m. (Photo by Heidi Randhava)

In the 1st Ward, Ms. Kelly had received 555 votes or 51.82% to 516 votes or 48.18% for longtime incumbent Judy Fiske with all four precincts reporting.

Mail-in votes are counted as the Cook County Clerk’s office receives them, said Frank Herrera, a spokesperson for that office this morning, Wednesday, April 7. He said that ballots have two weeks from Election Day to reach the Clerk’s office and are generally certified a week after that, three weeks from Election Day, if not a little earlier.

“But results cannot be certified before that two-week mail ballot,” he stressed in his email response. He said that the Office will make updates to its website,, daily as the new mail-in votes are received and counted.

In the southeast 8th Ward, Mr. Reid, currently Evanston’s City Clerk, had received 547 votes or 52.19% to 501 votes or 47.81% for Matthew Mitchell, a Ridgeville Park Commission member, with all five precincts reporting.

In the other aldermanic races, with all precincts reporting, unofficial results showed:

— In the 2nd Ward: Incumbent Alderman Peter Braithwaite had received 662 votes or 53.56% to 574 votes or 46.44% for first-time candidate Darlene Cannon;

— In the 3rd Ward: Incumbent Melissa Wynne had received 830 votes or 56.58% to 637 votes or 43.42% to 637 votes or 43.42% for challenger Nicholas Korzeniowski;

— In the 4th Ward: newcomer Jonathan Nieusma had received 784 votes or 58.81% to 549 votes or 41.19% for Diane Goldring, also a newcomer.

— In the 5th Ward: newcomer Bobby Burns had received 514 votes or 65.64% to 262 votes or 33.46% for challenger Carolyn Murray;

Tervalon and Tamika Sarget brought their son, Jaxson, when they voted at Fleetwood-Jourdain Community Center. (Photo by Heidi Randhava)

— In the 6th Ward, incumbent Thomas Suffredin had received 1,408 votes or 61.81% to 870 votes or 38.19% for first-time candidate Katie Trippi;

— In the 7th Ward, incumbent Eleanor Revelle received 983 votes or 60.74% to 644 votes or 39.58% for first-time candidate Mary Rosinski.

District 65 School Board

The results, posted on the Cook County Clerk’s website as of April 7 at 11 a.m., show changes in the vote totals for each candidate for the District 65 School Board from those reported last night. The votes totals with all 58 precincts being reported are as follows, which do not include all mail-in ballots:

Thomas Flanagan voted at Northminster Presbyterian Church. When asked what sources he relied on to get information about the candidates prior to voting, Mr. Flanagin said:  “I just did minimum homework, and part of what I looked at was information the RoundTable had. I also went to Wilmette Library and used their computers; I don’t have a computer. I miss when the RoundTable used to get delivered door-to-door. That was so nice.” (Photo by Heidi Randhava)

Soo La Kim (incumbent), 7,419 votes

Joseph Hailpern (incumbent), 6,291 votes

Elisabeth Lindsay-Ryan (incumbent), 6,770 votes

Donna Wang Su, 5,438 votes

Marquise Weatherspoon, 5,392 votes.

Ndona Muboyayi, 5,039 votes

Angela Blaising, 4,363 votes

Katie Magrino Voorhees, 4,329 votes

District 202 School Board

Incumbents Gretchen Livingston, Patricia Savage-Williams, and Patricia Ann Maunsell ran unopposed for the District 202 School Board. No candidate ran for the fourth open position.

Bob Seidenberg

Bob Seidenberg is an award-winning reporter covering issues in Evanston for more than 30 years. He is a graduate of the Northwestern University Medill School of Journalism.