Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Eighth Ward candidate Matthew Mitchell has conceded to opponent Devon Reid in the Eighth Ward aldermanic race, with the latest batch of mail ballots showing him still trailing Mr. Reid by 42 votes.

Results in the April 6 election are not final, however. Cook County Election officials allow mail-in ballots two weeks from Election Day to reach the County Clerk’s office.

The vote totals are generally certified a week after that – three weeks after Election Day, if not a little earlier.

In the southeast Eighth Ward, the latest batch of mail-in votes showed Mr. Mitchell, a Ridgeville Park District Commissioner, gaining four votes, but still trailing Mr. Reid, who currently serves as the Evanston City Clerk, with 557 votes to Mr. Reid’s 599.

In a statement posted on April 10 on social media, Mr. Mitchell said, “I spoke with Devon Reid and offered him my congratulations on being elected the next alderman of the Eighth Ward. The County updated the results last night and I think that the results will hold.

“Many thanks to all of you who supported me and my campaign; we all want to make our community a better place. Thank you all for your support. I wish the next Evanston City Council all the best in their important work going forward.”

In the City’s other close aldermanic race, in the northeast First Ward, incumbent Judy Fiske has picked up nine votes in the latest filing, but still trails challenger Clare Kelly, 581 votes to 551 votes, according to the latest posting, with time growing short.

The Second Ward Aldermanic is the next closest. In that race, incumbent Peter Braithwaite received 707 votes or 52.92% of the vote, to 629 votes or 47.08% for Darlene Cannon, a 78-vote advantage, according to the County’s latest figures.

In the contest for the District 65 School Board, where four seats are open, incumbents Soo La Kim, Joseph Hailpern and Elisabeth Lindsay-Ryan maintain their strong leads. For the fourth seat, Donna Wang Su has increased her lead over Marquise Weatherspoon, with 5,974 votes, to Ms. Weatherspoon’s 5,863.

These totals were current as of 4:53 p.m. April 9.


Leave a comment

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted. Your full name and email is required. We do not post anonymous comments. Your e-mail will not be posted.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *