Judge Lionel Jean-Baptiste swears in Daniel Biss as Evanston Mayor. (Photo by Genie Lemieux, Evanston Photographic Studios)

Getting your Evanston news from Facebook? Try the Evanston RoundTable’s free daily and weekend email newsletters – sign up now!

Just hours before he was sworn in on May 10 as Evanston’s mayor, Daniel Biss announced the appointment of a Reimagining Public Safety Committee.

The Mayor will chair the committee, which is composed of the following members: Sarah Bogan, Evanston Fight for Black Lives; Betty Bogg, Connections for the Homeless; Bobby Burns, Fifth Ward Council Member; Marcus Campbell, Evanston Township High School; Betty Ester, Citizens’ Network of Protection; Cicely Fleming, Ninth Ward Council Member; Alejandra L. Ibañez, Equity & Empowerment Commission Chair; Patrick Keenan-Devlin, Moran Center for Youth Advocacy; Nathan Norman, Youth and Young Adult Division, City of Evanston Health & Human Services Department; Andrew Papachristos, Northwestern University; Sean Peck-Collier, Community Activist; Devon Reid, Eighth Ward Council Member; Melissa Sacluti, Evanston Police Department; Evangeline Semark, Organizer Focused on Safety, Healing, and Agency for Survivors; Kymberly Walton, Equity & Empowerment Commission; and Kristen White, YWCA Evanston/North Shore.


Leave a comment

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted. Your full name and email is required. We do not post anonymous comments. Your e-mail will not be posted.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *