Incumbent Democrats, from the top to the bottom of the ballot, swept to victory Tuesday in Illinois, according to unofficial results.

Casting a vote by paper ballot. Credit: Richard Cahan

Incumbent Gov. JB Pritzker and Sen. Tammy Duckworth were the first to be declared victors, when the Associated Press called their races shortly after polls closed at 7 p.m. As of 7:30 a.m. Wednesday, the Chicago Tribune lists them with unofficial vote shares of 54.3% and 56.2%, respectively, with 95% of precincts reporting.

Both delivered victory speeches hitting on strongly progressive themes.

“Anyone who thinks they can come into this state and try to force some right-wing, MAGA war on a woman’s body, you will never get an inch of Illinois,” Pritzker said.

Other incumbent Democrats also held strong leads in statewide races, including Attorney General Kwame Raoul, Comptroller Susana Mendoza and Treasurer Michael Frerichs. Former state treasurer Alexi Giannoulias, with 55.5% of the vote for Secretary of State, declared victory and accepted the concession of Republican Dan Brady, calling himself “exhilarated and electrified” at serving in what is sometimes seen as a stepping stone to higher office.

Amendment 1, which proposes adding a right to collective bargaining to the state constitution, held 58.7% of the statewide vote as of 7:30 a.m. Wednesday according to the Tribune, short of the 60% needed for adoption.

Evanston voters, in a landslide, endorsed ranked choice voting for local offices, the first municipality in the state to do so. Next door in Skokie, voters appear to have passed a package of electoral reforms making future elections nonpartisan, staggered and hybrid between at-large and district trustee seats. Each of these reforms will be implemented during the spring 2025 consolidated election cycle.

Close to home, U.S. Rep. Jan Schakowsky, D-Ill., secured her 13th term with a victory over Republican challenger Max Rice. All three of Evanston’s state legislators, all Democrats – state Sen. Laura Fine and state Reps. Robyn Gabel and Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz – also won new terms in Springfield.

Cook County’s executive offices won’t see any new faces, either: Board President Toni Preckwinkle, Clerk Karen Yarbrough, Sheriff Tom Dart, Treasurer Maria Pappas and Assessor Fritz Kaegi all won re-election. Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner Josina Morita, a Democrat, won her bid to serve as County Commissioner for District 13 over Republican Andrew Border.

A referendum on a tax hike for the Forest Preserve District of Cook County passed soundly with around two-thirds yes votes.

View vote totals on the RoundTable’s local results spreadsheet here.

Alex Harrison

Alex Harrison joins the RoundTable for the summer in between his undergraduate and graduate studies at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism.

Leave a comment

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted. Your full name and email is required. We do not post anonymous comments. Your e-mail will not be posted.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *