Evanston Township High School is not the only Evanston school with an award-winning chess team. At the Illinois K-8 Chess Championship in downstate Normal March 11 and 12, teams from Chute and Nichols Middle School finished in third and fourth place in the Junior High division for Grades 6-8. Evans Junior High of Bloomington took first place in this division and the Whitney Young Academic Center finished second.

Players at this tournament competed as individuals, and team awards were based on the combined results of the four highest-finishing players from each school. Aiden Wang, Asa Lieberman, Shane Asbra and Henry Carr scored on behalf of Chute, with Wang and Lieberman also winning individual awards. The top four scorers for Nichols were Micah Mostovoy, Julian Fullmer, Wayra Sheridan and Zachary Gudwien Stoll. Mostovoy also won an individual award.

Nichols Middle School chess team members finished third and fourth in the Junior High division of the Illinois Chess Championship earlier this month. Credit: Marina Gitlin

Two brothers, Yusuf and Emin Bilgic, won high individual awards in Grade K-5 competitions. Yusuf took ninth place in the Elementary division for Grades 4-5 and Emin finished in an impressive second place in the Lower Primary division for Grades K-1.

Evanston players at this tournament were supported by Evanston Scholastic Chess and Chris Christmas, who served as coach.

“I’m very proud at how everyone was willing and able to support the individual highs and lows of the tournament regardless of the Evanston school they attended,” Christmas said.

Keith Holzmueller

Keith Holzmueller has been the head coach of the Evanston Township High School Chess Club and Team since 2017. He became a serious chess player during his high school years. As an adult player, he obtained...

Join the Conversation


The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted. Your full name and email is required. We do not post anonymous comments. Your e-mail will not be posted.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *