Advanced Search

Evanston RoundTable | Evanston, IL
The Weather Network
Nature's Perspective

home : schools : schools
May 20, 2019

5/1/2019 12:15:00 PM
New Board Members at School District 65
Assistant Superintendent Pete Bavis administers the oath of office to Stephanie Teterycz, Elizabeth Rolewicz and Monique Parsons. RoundTable photo
Assistant Superintendent Pete Bavis administers the oath of office to Stephanie Teterycz, Elizabeth Rolewicz and Monique Parsons. RoundTable photo
By Mary Helt Gavin

With farewells, congratulations and oaths of office, Mark Metz and Jonathan Baum retired from the District 202 School Board on April 29, and Elizabeth Rolewicz and Stephanie Teterycz took their new positions at the Board table. Assistant Superintendent Pete Bavis administered the oath of office to the new Board members, the third of whom was Monique Parsons, who was re-elected for a second term.

Speaking on behalf of the Board, President Pat Savage-Williams recognized Mr. Baum and Mr. Metz for their service to the Board and the students. “You have been a part of significant changes that will affect our community for years to come. We are all grateful … for your commitment to ETHS. Remember, it’s always a great day to be a Wildkit.”

In a prepared speech, Mr. Baum mentioned lessons learned from Barbara Hiller, retired District 65 principal and interim superintendent, and Elizabeth Tisdahl, former mayor and District 202 Board member, both of whom were in the audience. The full text of his speech is on page 6 of this issue. He also said that, although he had attended several different institutions, “ETHS is my alma mater, the mother of my soul.”

Mr. Metz said, “This position is about service – it’s about service to the community and service to the kids. I am extraordinarily grateful to the community for having had this opportunity for the last 10 years.” He acknowledged the work and collegiality of his fellow Board members and said, “I’m absolutely certain that ETHS has never been better than it is now. It’s not an excellent school for every kid, but we’re on the way.”

The new Board elected Pat Savage-Williams president and Ms. Parsons vice president; both were unopposed for the positions.

Ms. Savage-Williams welcomed the new Board members, saying, “I anticipate that this will be a rewarding yet challenging experience for you.”. She and other Board members thanked retiring student Board member Phoebe Liccardo for her leadership in the school and the community, her preparation for Board meetings and her articulation of student needs. Then they welcomes new student Board member Echo Allen.


Article Comment Submission Form

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted.

Note: Your full name is required. Your telephone number and e-mail will not be posted. You may type your comments in the space below, or you may type them in a word document and cut and paste them in the space below.

Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Click to View Upcoming Events
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
Submit Event

HomeVideosCommunity PostsObituariesClassifiedsAdvertiseAbout UsContact UsLinksLife
Copyright 2008-17 - Evanston RoundTable LLC, Evanston, IL 60202, 847-864-7741, All Rights Reserved

Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved