Advanced Search

Evanston RoundTable | Evanston, IL
The Weather Network
NU OLLI - Leaderboard

home : art & life : art & life
June 26, 2019

6/12/2019 2:29:00 PM
Justin Wynn Celebrates 2019 Youth Leaders
Photo by Genie Lemieux, Evanston Photographic Studios
Photo by Genie Lemieux, Evanston Photographic Studios
By Heidi Randhava

Twenty-four Evanston/Skokie District 65 fourth grade students were honored at the 32nd Annual Justin Wynn Fund Awards Banquet on May 5 at the Hilton Orrington/Evanston, 1710 Orrington Avenue. Each spring, the Justin Wynn Fund honors two fourth grade students from each of the 12 District 65 schools.

The “Wynners” are selected by their teachers and school administrators for demonstrating outstanding leadership, citizenship, and sportsmanship. The mission of the Justin Wynn Fund is to celebrate and nurture youth leaders by helping them develop a deep sense of self and responsibility for improving their communities.

In addition to receiving the Justin Wynn Award, Wynners can participate in the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy (JWLA) from fifth through twelfth grade. Programming of the JWLA includes leadership development activities and opportunities to plan and execute a wide range of community service projects. There are currently over 110 Wynners participating in the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy.

The Justin Wynn Fund was founded by Michael and Marcia Wynn and other Evanston community leaders to honor the memory of the Wynn’s son Justin, a passionate, service-minded young leader who died in a swimming accident when he was nine years old.

This year, more than 300 people attended the Justin Wynn Fund Banquet, including Dist. 65 Superintendent Dr. Paul Goren, Dist. 202 Superintendent Dr. Eric Witherspoon, Mayor Steve Hagerty, Alderman Peter Braithwaite, and former Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl.

The 2019 Justin Wynn Award recipients are: Kyle King and Ray Owens-Fomond – Dr.  Bessie Rhodes School of Global Studies; Mynard Blake and Gilliane Yuri Pagtakhan – Dawes Elementary School; Natthen Puchuela and Emily Rauh – Dewey Elementary School; Nia Lewis-Kimmons and Arvin Powyer-Hutcherson – Dr. Marti Luther King Jr. Literary and Fine Arts School; Margaret Dillingham and Lacey Triplett – Kingsley Elementary School; Maya Klein and Peter Koconis – Lincoln Elementary School; Ebony Turner and Natalie Weinert – Lincolnwood Elementary School; Abigail Silencieux and Jagger Silvery – Oakton Elementary School; Daisy Bagley and Gable Holstine – Orrington Elementary School; Lynh Nassour and Raeef Shams – Walker Elementary School; Maxwell Eliot Kane and Hunys Wambo – Washington Elementary School; Helena Hancko and Hannah Mathews – Willard Elementary School.

Article Comment Submission Form

The RoundTable will try to post comments within a few hours, but there may be a longer delay at times. Comments containing mean-spirited, libelous or ad hominem attacks will not be posted.

Note: Your full name is required. Your telephone number and e-mail will not be posted. You may type your comments in the space below, or you may type them in a word document and cut and paste them in the space below.

Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Click to View Upcoming Events
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Submit Event

HomeVideosCommunity PostsObituariesClassifiedsAdvertiseAbout UsContact UsLinksLife
Copyright 2008-19 - Evanston RoundTable LLC, Evanston, IL 60202, 847-864-7741, All Rights Reserved

Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved